+7 (495) 637 77 03

+7 (495) 637 75 96



Galina Vishnevskaya VII International Opera Singers Competition

7 June 2019

On June 7 2019, the final III round of the Galina Vishnevskaya VII International Opera Singers Competition was held at the Stanislavsky and Nemirovich-Danchenko Music Theater.
Olga Rostropovich, Chairman of the Jury, opened the prize-winners awarding ceremony with congratulations to the contestants and greetings and thanks to the friends and partners of the competition and, of course, the audience, who has supported and worried about young singers during for all these days.
Then, the results of Jury vote were announced.
Special prizes:
One year of study at the Galina Vshnevskaya Opera Centre free of charge — Ilia Kazakov;
Participation in the Galina Vishnevskaya Opera Centre repertoire performance — Giorgi Chelidze;
Prize for the best Russian aria performance — went to Erika Baikoff (USA);
Audience Appreciation prize — Julia Muzychenko;
Prize for the Best Accompanist — Valery Gerasimov.
This year’s competition novelty: each member of the Jury had the opportunity to award his own special prize to the chosen singer.
For instance, the Casting director of the Washington Opera, Samuel Gelber, invited the contestant from South Korea Byeong Min Gil to audition, the singer also received an invitation to take part in a concert in Parma from Anna Maria Meo and in a performance at the Royal Opera of Liege from Stefano Mazzonis; 
Giorgi Chelidze was invited by Sebastian Schwarz to Malmö and by Christina Sheppelmann to Barcelona, as well as by Miguel Lerin who promised an audition for the singer in Spain. Badri Maysuradze is going to discuss a part in the performance of the Tbilisi Opera and Ballet Theater for Mongolian singer Badral Chuluunbaatar. The prize from casting director at  Hamburg Opera — Annette Weber, went to Julia Muzychenko.
Such proposals, of course, are precious to young performers.
After that, Olga Rostropovich has announced the winners of the Competition:
III prize — Palesa Malieloa (South Africa)
II prize — Badral Chuluunbaatar (Mongolia)
I prize and a golden medal went to Byeong Min Gil (South Korea)